Skip to Main Content

2016-2017 Catalog

Lafayette Today

Lafayette College focuses exclusively on undergraduate programs. It grants the Bachelor of Arts degree in 31 established major fields and the Bachelor of Science in nine fields of science and four of engineering. Interdisciplinary majors have been established in Africana Studies, American Studies, Biochemistry, International Affairs, A.B. International Studies/B.S. Engineering, Mathematics and Economics, Neuroscience, and Russian and East European Studies. In addition, a number of departments have joined others in offering coordinate majors. Many departments also permit a minor in the field. A five-year, two-degree plan is also available.

The Board of Trustees is the governing body of the College, and it holds title to the College's properties, manages and allocates its funds, determines the broad policies under which programs are offered, and selects both its own membership and the President of the College, who is the chief executive officer. Under the Statutes of the College, the faculty determines the courses of study, requirements for admission, and other academic regulations, subject to approval by the Board of Trustees.

Lafayette College is a member of the Lehigh Valley Association of Independent Colleges (LVAIC), which also includes Cedar Crest College, DeSales University, Lehigh University, Moravian College, and Muhlenberg College. The consortium offers opportunities for cross-registration under certain conditions, and promotes cooperation in library resources, technology initiatives, and some academic programs.